Saturday, February 27, 2010

This and That Card Trick



This is an interesting card trick I stumbled upon when I was procrastination during study time.

Can you figure it out?

I did =)

Finished!

Yes! Finally, exams are over for me! What a huge sigh of relief I can breath!

The calculus exam we had was extremely long for the alloted time. Some people didn't even finish it. There was a question on the exam that we never done in homework, showed as an example in class, explained in tutorial, or even on previous exams. That question almost made no sense to us, and it seems that many people was not able to get the question. Many people complained about the lack of time that was provided to write the exam. We got an hour and a half to do about 9 pages worth of work. Most of it was row reduction, not that it was hard, but it was extremely time consuming and tedious.

The calculus exam was on Friday at 7pm, finishing at around 9pm. I didn't get home till about 10:45pm. The Economics exam, which was on the following day (a Saturday) was at 1pm. Which gives us practically no time to study for it. So some of my friends decided to stay up all night studying for it. I don't know how they did it, as I did no studying the night before because I got bored of it quickly, and I got to school early to study there; I had 2 hours, but only used about 1 hour of it to really study, the other hour, I was fooling around.

The economics exam was really easy in comparison to the management and calculus exam. Well, the calculus exam wasn't exactly hard, it was just not enough time, making it challenging. My stupid fat, balding, comb-over, old professor probably thought it was a good idea to make half the exam on row reductions and give us 1.5 hours. The economics exam we did today had two hours alloted time, and I finished all of the exam, and half checking over it in less than one hour. So now, I am thinking to myself: "The easy exam was given twice the amount of time needed for it to be completed, yet the harder exam was not even given enough time to be completed". Who makes up these stuff? Which idiot died and made this even dumber idiot decide all of this? Obviously we need less time to finish a harder exam than an easier exam.

After the exam was done, my friends and I were comparing answers, most of them were correct, but some started to worry me. I didn't get enough sleep the night before (because I need lots of sleep) so some mistakes were completely stupid. I also drank coffee during the exam, that probably made me more jittery than it was good. Ha ha. Oh well, doesn't matter, because if I get higher on my final exam, that mark I get on the final exam will account for 100% of the course mark. Which makes things nicer.

After the exam, I thought people would stay around and go out and chill or something. It turns out that everyone just kinda left, and went wherever. Since nothing was happening, I took a friend of mine home, and went out to eat with another friend of mine, and drove her home as well; I then proceeded to go home.

When I got home, the first thing I did was play games. I have been playing since about 7pm, and I stopped about 20 minutes ago; making the gaming time to be about 2 and a half hours. Oh gosh that was fun =)

Tomorrow, Canada VS USA for gold medal in Hockey. I think i will be going out to a friend's house to watch the game with friends, just to chill and have fun. It should be good. I've only sat through a full hockey game once. The Montreal Canadiennes were playing against some other team I forgot who.

Yea, I had a long, yet fast 2 weeks studying for exams and writing them. Finally, I can stop and do nothing again. Oh, how much I miss doing just nothing and wasting time.

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Management Exam

The management exam starts at 5pm, I got to school at around 2pm. I had 3 hours of studying time which initially I thought I had used it somewhat well, though it did contained a lot of socializing. It was fun, talking and studying at the same time, we also even tested each other. I didn't get many of the answers correct, or even know it for that matter, but I think I learned a bit off of it.

Anyways, as 5pm approached I started to get annoyed by studying, so I kinda just stopped in general near the end. The time is 4:45pm I decide to go to the washroom before writing the exam, as I did have a large coffee at Tim Horton's. I go to the washroom, come back to find everyone missing and gone. Great, all my friends had left me to go to the exam. How loved and remembered I was at that time.

The exam itself was hard in comparison to previous year's exams. The practice questions for both short answer and multiple choice were completely useless. No previous exam helped at all. Maybe excepted the study process. The exam had questions that were not even in the text book! I mean, the exam is supposed to be based on the material in the textbook! sigh.

Half of chapter 3 was about computers and communication. I already knew half of chapter 3 because I love computers, and I know lots about them. And to my luck, there was absolutely nothing on computers. Besides they defined CPU and Main Memory wrong in the text book. The term Main Memory was really iffy.

So from what I see, they decided to test on material that was not in the text book, and completely leave out material that was in the text book. Like seriously, what the hell is that fat, weird smiling, 50 year old professor doing? BOTH of them! Why can't university professors just play nicely and let us all be successful? Must they toy around with our exams, marks, self confidence and even future? Is that what helps them sleep at night? I'm guessing so, because that's what they just did when they wrote that exam. Did they get up in the middle of the night and say to themselves "OK, I feel like screwing over some 18, 19 year olds and their future, so lets fuck up the exam with material not covered in the text book!" or "These little shits don't even attend my lectures anymore, so in return I am going to fuck them over by testing them on material that was not even required textbook!"

Seriously, because of this exam, even if I do 85+ (because that is a 4.0 at UTSC) on my next 2 exams, I am still probably fucked over because I do not have the required GPA to enter program. So what am I supposed to do after all of this? Switch to another program? I can't go in to any sciences because I did not take any sciences in high school.

Okay, I cannot put all of the blame on the professors, as I did not study quite enough, and I did not attend any lectures either. Karma perhaps? I don't know.

Well, in the end that exam was much harder than previous years. Maybe they want to fail a lot of us to make UTSC look better, and not have that many management students.

I still have another 2 exams left, calculus on Friday, and economics on Saturday. I have to go to school on a Saturday to write an exam. What a gay.

Back to studying, and of course procrastination. Though I will try to minimize the procrastination

Reading Week and Exams

Oh my gosh, it is now the 2nd semester, and we are already studying for our midterms. Some of us has even written some. This just means that the last quarter of the first year is quickly approaching. It sure has moved really fast.

Last week was reading week; lots of my friends came back from their various universities to spend take a break and spend it with family and high school friends. Assuming we had the time to mess around; most of us had to get our noses glued inside study notes and text books for the following week of exams! But, we all did have one full week plus a day or two including traveling here and back to the universities. Of course we gave ourselves at least one day off to see friends that you missed dearly since the winter break.

I myself only put one day aside to see friends. I feel like that wasn't enough, though I did have lots of studying to do. I did study, sort of. That one day that I set aside was a Wednesday. That Wednesday was rather interesting in multiple ways.

Firstly, After waking up in to the late morning, and early noon, I did my morning routine as usual. I then took the bus to my old high school where some friends were waiting for me. But of course I had to visit my favourite teacher. After talking a for a while, 2 of my friends complained to get something to eat and drink. Originally I was planning to see another teacher, and see some friends that still attended that school. But I couldn't so, we left in my car to go to Second Cup for a cup of coffee. After consuming the coffee, we headed to Fairview Mall to kill some time before picking up another friend. I bought a present for a friend, while visiting another friend that was working there.


We decided to leave Fairview a bit early. I am glad that we did that, or else we would have been super late for the dinner. Traffic to my other friend's house was horrible. Stop and go traffic all the way to her house, and all the way to the restaurant at Hwy 7 and Kennedy.

We ate at a sushi buffet called Yang's Kitchen. The food there is decent, service quality depends on the waiter, and attendance of food is questionable. You may wonder what I meant by that. It's simple really, you order food, it comes, you order more, it disappears. Maybe I was tired from driving, or just in a bad mood, but that really pissed me off. So much that I asked to speak with the manager. Apparently the Manager doesn't work on Wednesday nights. So I spoke to a supervisor instead. What we said is not really important, nothing about it was important. The supervisor has worked there since the restaurant opened 10 years ago, and shes still only a supervisor; which simply means shes never going to get any better. Which is true because you can tell by the way she acts, and talks.

I did say I was speaking to the supervisor, but it was all her talking, non stop, the same things over and over again, to the point where I just stopped listening. The weird thing is that it was I who asked to speak to someone, and she ended up talking to my friend instead, which makes no sense. I probably did cause quite a mess for the restaurant, our waitress, and my friends who were there. If it did mess things up, I'm sorry to my friends, and our waitress Yoyo; but definitely not the supervisor.

Our waitress was kind of cute, in a way, just sort of. Maybe I should have asked for her number haha! I do feel bad for her though. She is a nice girl, hardworking and thoughtful. Anyone can see that easily; all of my friends agreed that she was nice and provided good service.

In the end of all of this, we only got 20% off. which sounds like a lot, but still paid 20 something dollars each; not exactly much of a discount compared to other places...

Anyways, after that eventful day and night, the rest of the week was dedicated to studying.

On Friday, I headed to school, of course I was persuaded by another friend of mine to come to school in the first place. The original plan was to study there for the day, but that didn't exactly happen. I did about 5 practice questions on a previous exam and that was about it. Most of the time spent was talking, socializing and debating on where to go for dinner. In the end, 6 of us including myself decided to go to St. Louis for dinner; the one beside Scarborough Town Center. We had dinner, talked and watched a small portion of the Raptor's game that was on. It was fun, lots of laughs, jokes and pleasure among all 6 of us. I headed home that day with nothing done, but with a great smile on my face.

Procrastination WHILE studying often gets to me, especially when there is a computer in front of me. Studying slowly, and as time passes you start to realize how unprepared you really are, and you try hard to get back to studying and stay focused, but I found myself either gaming, chatting on MSN, Googling random things that popped in my head, listening to music, and even Facebook, and Facebook games rather than doing work. Or writing this blog, when I do have a Management exam tomorrow.

Well, exam is tomorrow at 5pm, and I am partially ready. We'll see what happens later.

Good luck to me, and my fellow management students.