Wednesday, May 26, 2010

New Car

The past week has been completely exhausting. My dad and I went out car shopping, and considering all possible options.

Last Saturday, we went to 2 Toyota dealerships, and 1 Mitsubishi dealership. We looked at the Corolla CE and the Lancer SE. I really like the lancer; it is simply one of my favourite cars. Adding up taxes and other wanted options, the price of the car shot up further than the fireworks on Victoria Day. Naturally, the Lancer is out of the question.

So, we were considering the Corolla, because it was the cheapest and simplest car you can find, with me actually being to fit inside. It's a pretty simple car; it is as basic as things come. A few days later, my dad was able to calculate out that buying the LE was better value than buying all the packages that came with the CE for an extra few hundred dollars.

I thought my dad was just going to be as cheap as possible, but it turns out that he just looks for the best value, rather than the lowest possible price.

I come home from school on Tuesday, he tells me that he is looking at the Honda Civic, Nissan Rogue, Hyundai Tucson, and a couple of other cars not worth mentioning.

I said no to the Civic right away. It doesn't even come with an AUX jack to plug in your mp3/iPod. It is an extra accessory that costs another $150 or so. I also like the Corolla more than the Civic. I detest both though.

Now with my dad considering all options under 30 grand, he included a few SUVs: Rav4, Tucson, Rogue.

We went to the Nissan dealership today to look at the Rogue. But the sales representative was being very gay. We ask him to name and describe some features of the car, he leaves and just gets a sheet for us. He doesn't say much, and eventually went back to his desk. His lack of attitude and superior laziness made us leave the dealership in a few moments. No time to fuck around with someone who doesn't give a shit. For all I care, he can go home and jerk off. Maybe get hit by that Nissan Rogue that he was supposed to present to us. Okay, that car is a bit too expensive; maybe a Yaris will do.

The neighboring dealership was Hyundai. Went to see the new Tucson. About the same price as a Rogue, but I like the Hyundai more.

I also test drove the Tucson, I was super impressed by how the car feels, considering how Hyundai has almost no reputation for anything. Much much better than the Corolla where everything felt really fake and like a toy.

Afterwards we went to the Toyota dealership to look at the RAV4. Test drove that too. The brakes felt really deep. Meaning that you have to press down a lot to have any braking power to be usable. It's a nice car, but Toyota is very firm on their pricing. On top of that, That style that the RAV4 has been around for 4, 5 years already; which means that it is time for an update.

Anyways, all in all, I believe the Tuscon is the best bang for the buck. But with my dad making the final decision, nothing is ever written in stone up until signing.

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Torn

Torn between two decision, neither of them with a happy ending. But I must choose one or the other. To add to the agony, there is very limited time to make the decision. What is there that I can do?

Perhaps nothing. Ride out the bumps, and get up after falling if I have the energy to stand up again.

To hide a leaf, you would place it in the forest. That is why I am standing in the rain, to hide my tears, as I can no longer hold them back.

Shouldn't I be used to this by now? Each time, the sting is just as vibrant as the last, as if it was the very first.